Photography Schools Worldwide

Master’s degree · Dedicated photography program

MFA in Photography

University of Hartford · West Hartford, Connecticut, United States

Visit Official PageRequest Information
Award
MFA in Photography
Subject
Fine art
Format
Low residencytwo years (summer, fall, spring semesters each) plus two weeks (final third summer)
Price
Not published

About this program

Low-residency MFA in photography with a summer start, combining on-campus summer residencies with travelling fall and spring sessions.

School and department
University of HartfordHartford Art School
Subject or specialization
Fine artRecorded only where the official program page names it as a focus, not for individual modules.
Teaching language
English

Qualification and recognition

Qualification
Master’s degree
Exact award
MFA in Photography
Award status
Accredited academic qualificationAwarded by a degree-granting institution or listed in a national qualifications framework.
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Structure and schedule

Duration
two years (summer, fall, spring semesters each) plus two weeks (final third summer)
Delivery
Low residencyMostly remote study with periodic mandatory residencies, as the institution describes them.
Physical attendance
Periodic residencies requiredRequired in-person time: Students meet on campus for two weeks each summer; fall and spring sessions are held off campus in cities in the US and abroad.
Live or recorded
Live or recorded not stated
Schedule
Not published
Credits
60 creditsCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
Teaching location
University of Hartford (West Hartford)200 Bloomfield Ave

Admissions and portfolio

Portfolio required

Portfolio
A PDF portfolio of 20-25 images, at least half from the last two years and all from the last four. Priority application deadline is January 15 (year not stated on the page).
International applicants
Not confirmed
Intakes
  • Summer

Fees

Original currency is authoritative. Each fee keeps its basis (per term, per year, per credit, whole program) and the academic year it applies to and is never converted or added up for you.

Tuition is not published on the pages we checked. That does not mean the program is free: ask the institution for current fees, equipment costs and any deposit or refund terms.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: price, schedule, application deadline.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 1 November 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Sources (checked 1 November 2026)

Suggest a correction